Skip to content

Whale and dolphin species guide

There are around 90 species of whales, dolphins and porpoises, known collectively as 'cetaceans'. From the enormous blue whale to the tiny vaquita and Hector's dolphin, you will find information and amazing facts about many of these incredible creatures in our species guide.

Whale and dolphin species

All whales and dolphins can be divided into two categories: baleen whales and toothed whales. Toothed whales include the sperm whale, beaked whales, dolphins, porpoises and the beluga whale and narwhal.

  • All
  • Baleen whales
  • Beaked whales
  • Beluga whale and narwhal
  • Dolphins
  • Porpoises
  • River dolphins
  • Sperm whales
Franciscana dolphin


Fraser's dolphin

Fraser’s dolphin

Ganges river dolphin

Ganges river dolphin

Gervais' beaked whale

Gervais’ beaked whale

Ginkgo-toothed beaked whale

Gray whale

Gray whale

Gray's beaked whale

Gray’s beaked whale

Guiana dolphin © Marcos Santos

Guiana dolphin

Harbour porpoise © Nicola Hodgins/WDC

Harbour porpoise

Heaviside's dolphin

Heaviside’s dolphin

Hector’s beaked whale

Hector's dolphin

Hector’s dolphin

Hourglass dolphin © Louise Tomlinson

Hourglass dolphin

Hubb’s beaked whale

Humpback whale. Photo: Vanessa Mignon

Humpback whale

Please help us save whales and dolphins

By adopting a whale or dolphin, by making a donation, or by fundraising for WDC, you can help us provide a safe future for these amazing creatures.

Bottlenose dolphin at surface


Adopt a dolphin and help us protect these amazing creatures.

Humpback whale. Photo: Vanessa Mignon


Your gifts help us take action for whales and dolphins.

Orca spyhop


Run, bake, walk, cycle… what could you do for whales and dolphins?