Skip to content

Whale and dolphin species guide

There are around 90 species of whales, dolphins and porpoises, known collectively as 'cetaceans'. From the enormous blue whale to the tiny vaquita and Hector's dolphin, you will find information and amazing facts about many of these incredible creatures in our species guide.

Whale and dolphin species

All whales and dolphins can be divided into two categories: baleen whales and toothed whales. Toothed whales include the sperm whale, beaked whales, dolphins, porpoises and the beluga whale and narwhal.

  • All
  • Baleen whales
  • Beaked whales
  • Beluga whale and narwhal
  • Dolphins
  • Porpoises
  • River dolphins
  • Sperm whales
Bryde's whale © Jirayu Tour Ekkul

Bryde’s whale

Burmeister's porpoise

Burmeister’s porpoise

Chilean dolphin

Chilean dolphin

Clymene dolphin

Commerson's dolphin

Commerson’s dolphin

Bottlenose dolphin at surface

Common bottlenose dolphin

Common dolphin

Common dolphin

Common minke whale

Common minke whale

Cuvier's beaked whale © BMMRO

Cuvier’s beaked whale

Dall's porpoise

Dall’s porpoise

Beaked whale silhouette

Deraniyagala’s Beaked Whale

Dusky dolphins

Dusky dolphin

Dwarf sperm whale

Dwarf sperm whale

False killer whale © Peter Jucker/Swiss Whale Society

False killer whale

Fin whale at surface

Fin whale

Please help us save whales and dolphins

By adopting a whale or dolphin, by making a donation, or by fundraising for WDC, you can help us provide a safe future for these amazing creatures.

Bottlenose dolphin at surface


Adopt a dolphin and help us protect these amazing creatures.

Humpback whale. Photo: Vanessa Mignon


Your gifts help us take action for whales and dolphins.

Orca spyhop


Run, bake, walk, cycle… what could you do for whales and dolphins?